Skip to content ↓
Blaby Stokes CE Primary School

Blaby Stokes Primary School

Local Governors

The structure and remit of the governing body  

The remit of the governing body is to provide focused governance for the academy at a local level. It monitors the academy’s key performance indicators in the areas of achievement, teaching and learning, curriculum, ethos, finance, operations, safeguarding and wellbeing. It acts as a critical friend to the Headteacher and academy’s senior leadership team, providing challenge and support where appropriate.   

It comprises the Headteacher (ex-officio), Parish incumbent (ex-officio), 2 x elected parent governors, 2 x elected staff governors, 2 x  Diocesean  Board of Education approved governors, and 5 local governors.  

Current governors  

Full name  

Date of appt  

Term of office  

Who  appointed  

Emma Palmer (Chair)  

Sept 2016  

Sept 2016 – Sept 2020  

Parent governor  

Kerry Rodger  

Aug 2018  

N/A – Ex-officio  

Headteacher (ex-officio)  

Denise Birnie  



Local governor  

Tracey Hassell  



Local governor  

Sue Lawrence  



Local governor  

Jane Micklethwaite  


N/A – Ex-officio  

Parish incumbent (ex-officio)  

Izzy Reid-Mackay  



Staff governor  

Charlotte Smart  



Staff governor  

Lian Smith  



DBE local governor  

Clair Vaughan  



Local governor  

Jane Peberdy

    DBE local governor  

Nathan Bunting



Local governor  

Kristie Marshman



Local governor  


Governors whose terms of reference ended in the last 12 months  

Full name  

Date of appt  

Term of office  

Date stepped down  

Who  appointed  

Richard Holdridge  

February 2016  

February 2016 – February 2020  

February 2020  

DBE governor  

Maria Mesias  



March 2020  

Local governor  

Zoe Warner  



March 2019  

Local governor  



Resources committee  (including finances, premises, health & safety and safeguarding): Emma Palmer, Kerry Rodger, Denise Bernie, Sue Lawrence, Jane  Micklethwaite, Clair Vaughan, Jane Peberdy vacancy x 2  

Curriculum, standards and ethos committee: Emma Palmer (Chair), Kerry Rodger, Tracey Hassell, Sue Lawrence, Andy Maxwell, Charlotte Smart, Lian Smith, Clair Vaughan, Jane Peberdy

Pay committee: Emma Palmer, Jane  Micklethwaite, vacancy  

Community  working group: Jane  Micklethwaite  (Lead), Denise Birnie, Tracey Hassell,  Andy Maxwell, Izzy Reid-Mackay,  Lian Smith

Contact details for the Chair of Governors  

Emma Palmer:  

Please click  here  to view Pecuniary Interests.